Mixed Bag Monday: Fall Semester

So I actually forgot it was Monday and wrote a different post about something else. Fortunately when I was picking the category for that post, I was reminded that Mondays are Mixed Bag Mondays and that today is, in fact, Monday. Hence a new post. Enjoy today’s Mixed Bag.

As you may remember, I have a love of fall. It is wonderful for so many reasons. Fall semester is a little trickier. I really enjoy being in school, which is good since I’m planning on being in school for the rest of my life, but fall semester has a couple weird features.

For all of undergrad, I got used to starting classes within a few days of Labor Day, only getting 2 days off for Thanksgiving (Thanksgiving and Black Friday), and finals week running until December 22 or 23. Intense. I love Christmas even more than I love fall, so the end of the semester really got in the way of my Christmas excitement.

This year is a little different, and also the source of my mixed feelings about fall semester. I’m done with classes on December 6th, and hopefully that will be the end of required attendance provided I don’t have to take that optional final. This gives me plenty of time to get in the Christmas spirit, and plenty of time to visit the Most Magical Place on Earth (26 days away!). But it also means that the semester starts in the middle of August and that my papers need to be finished earlier than usual. I’m used to Thanksgiving break being farther away from the end of the semester, but I only have 3 days of class left. Whoa. I think I like the new schedule, but I’m not used to it yet, so that means I have to spend part of break working on papers.

On the bright side, I only have 3 days of class left and then I can celebrate winter and Christmas. I’ll have lots of time to get ready for the holidays. I have big plans to make some DIY presents and listen to Christmas music and make Christmas cookies. Get excited for Friday’s post – The Best Baking Day Ever. I’ve been excited for months. It’s one of my favorite days of the entire year. Along with Christmas, of course.

Perhaps next year, when I’m aware of the schedule changes, I’ll think that the new schedule is the Fall Semester Schedule Ever, but since I wasn’t well prepared, this semester is really a Mixed Bag.

Leave a comment